Mississippi plumbing license:
everything you need to know
The Mississippi plumbing industry is growing. Learn an in-demand skill and get your Mississippi plumbing license. This guide contains information about licensing requirements, apprenticeships, and job resources.
What plumbing work can be done without a license?
Licenses are required for residential plumbers who perform over $10,000 of plumbing work. Commercial plumbers must be licensed if they perform over $50,000 of plumbing work. All plumbers are required to apply for the proper permits for each job.
What are the different types of plumbing licenses in Mississippi
The types of plumbing licenses available in Mississippi are an unlimited commercial plumber and unlimited residential contractor license. The Mississippi State Board of Contractors administers Mississippi plumber licenses.
Unlimited commercial plumbers perform all types of plumber jobs, including pipe installations, fixture removals, and repairs for commercial buildings. Unlimited residential plumbers do the same duties, but for residential buildings. Residential contractors can perform commercial plumbing work. However, they cannot do plumbing work in commercial buildings that exceed 7,500 square feet.
Apply for a Mississippi plumber contractor license by completing an application. You are required to take the plumber licensing test within 6 months of submitting the application.
You must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school diploma or a GED to apply for a Mississippi plumbing license.
The pay rate for Mississippi plumbers is $18.36 per hour. The general career span for plumbers is 15 years.
How to get a plumbing license in Mississippi
For a Mississippi plumbing license, you are not required to enroll in an apprenticeship program. Then, submit an application and pass the test.
Criminal Backgrounds – Applicants with a criminal background are encouraged to submit an application for a plumbing license. The licensing board reviews all applications on a case-by-case basis.
Plumbing schools: Reputable plumbing programs in Mississippi are:
Plumbing school courses: Fundamentals of plumbing and construction, drainage and sanitary systems, blueprints, pipe assembly, and plumbing codes
Tuition costs: Plan to pay up to $350 per credit hour for tuition at a Mississippi technical college, plumbing trade, or a community college. Student financial aid is generally available to pay for the costs of community college and trade school.
Prerequisites for Mississippi plumbing schools:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a high school diploma or GED.
- Possess a valid Mississippi driver’s license and/or identification card.
- Be physically capable of performing plumbing duties.
Plumber examinations: PSI Exams administers the Mississippi plumber contractor tests. The Mississippi plumber exam has two sections: Business & Law examination (50 questions) and Plumbing examination (70 questions). The passing score is 70% for each section.
Plumber examination fees: Mississippi plumber examination fees range from $100 – $150 per test.
Helpful plumber examination resources: Exam Prep
Plumber license fees: Commercial plumber licenses are $400. Residential plumber licenses are $50.
Should I join a union?
To become a union plumber, you must pay monthly union dues. Plumbing union members enjoy the following benefits:
- A salary of up to 20% higher than non-union members
- Job security
- Union representation against workplace bullying and harassment
- Sick pay
- Vacation pay
Insurance for plumbers in Mississippi
Mississippi plumbers must be insured to perform plumbing work. In some instances, employers pay for plumber insurance. The cost of general liability insurance ranges from $671 to $1,740 annually.
If you are a self-employed plumber, you must pay for your own plumber insurance. The minimum plumber insurance requirement in Mississippi is $300,000 for general liability for each occurrence.
Plumbers come in contact with a variety of hazardous waste materials. The Center for Disease Control (CDC) provides the following vaccination recommendations for Mississippi plumbers:
- Hepatitis B
- Typhoid Fever
- Hepatitis A
How to get my first plumbing apprenticeship
Apply for your first Mississippi plumbing apprenticeship through a company, trade school, or local union program. The following organizations offer plumber apprenticeship programs:
Wear professional clothing when you meet with the apprenticeship representative. Bring copies of your driver’s license/government-issued identification card, resume, and education credentials.
Does my license work in any other states?
Mississippi has plumber contractor license reciprocity arrangements with North Carolina, Alabama, Louisiana, Tennessee, and Georgia.
How do I stay up to date with plumbing codes?
Mississippi plumbers are required to stay up to date with the current Mississippi plumbing codes. Refer to these resources:
What resources are available in the plumbing industry?
Prepare for your career with the following resources:
How often do I need to renew my plumbing license in Minnesota?
Renew your license every year. The commercial license renewal fee is $400. The residential license renewal fee is $100.
Keep up with the latest trends in the home services industries
Housecall Pro offers a monthly newsletter complete with tips and advice on how to manage your home service business. Sign up today and get more content like this as well as access to free ebooks, guides, and webinars.